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New York State Department of Labor
Eliot Spitzer, Governor
M. Patricia Smith, Commissioner

May 8, 2007

Re: Request for Opinion
Frequency of Payment - Labor Law §191
Our File No.: RO-07-0041

Der SN

I have been asked to respond to your letter of May 2, 2007 in which you ask a number of
questions based on the following scenario: you have a client "contemplating expanding its
operations to locations within the State of New York." This will involve hiring 200-300
employees "in a wide range of functions, including manual warehouse workers." You state that
your client's current payroll practice provides for bi-weekly payment of wages to all classes of
workers. You also state, however, that "based on the terms of Section 191, and the scenario
presented, it appears the Employer may (sic) be in violation with (sic) the Frequency of
Payments provision under Article 6."

Your first two questions ask whether the above analysis is correct and whether any
exemptions exist based on the facts provided. Labor Law §191(1)(a)(i) states that manual
workers "shall be paid weekly and not later than seven calendar days after the end of the week in
which the wages are earned.” The only exemption to this provision is set forth in Labor Law
§191(1)(a)(i1)). However, that section only applies to employers who have employed an average
of one thousand or more persons in this state for the three years preceding their request for an
exemption. Accordingly, the answers to your first two questions are that your analysis is correct
and that there are no exceptions based upon the facts provided.

In your third question you ask, in essence, how the amount of penalties for such a
violation would be calculated based upon the up to $1,000.00, $2,000.00, or $3,000.00 civil
penalties imposed on, respectively, first, second or third offenders as provided Labor Law §218.
The Department interprets "second," third" and "subsequent" violations to mean that prior to
imposing the greater penalties allowable for such violations, there must be one or more
previously issued "predicate offences.” In other words, the "first" violation must be issued prior
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to, and not simultaneously with, the "second." Please also take further note that the Department
interprets Labor Law §218(4) to mean that a separate penalty may be imposed for each violation
occurring in regard to each separate worker on each separate payday. In this situation, if your
client were to set up a New York State business in which 200 persons were employed as manual
workers, and if the employer were to pay those workers on a bi-weekly, rather than weekly, basis
such that over the course of two months the workers were paid on four paydays rather than eight,
the Department could impose penalties based on each failure to pay each worker on each of the
four missed paydays, which penalties for such "first offense" could total up to $800,000.00

(200 x 4 x $1,000.00).

This opinion is based upon the information provided in your- letter of May 2, 2007. A
different opinion might result if any facts provided have been inaccurately stated, or if there are
other relevant facts which have not been disclosed. If you have any further questions, please feel
free to contact me.

Very truly yours,

Maria L.,Colavito, Coynsel
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Senior Attorney
cc: Carmine Ruberto
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